Disaster Management Authority (DDMA)

Last Updated on: July 12, 2022

DDMA Introduction

As Mandated by the Disaster Management Act 2005, the Governement of Assam has adopted the Act with notification in the official Gazette in the month of December 2006.The State Government has established the Assam State Disaster Management Authority (ASDMA) chaired by the Honorable Chief Minister, Assam with Honorable Minister Revenue and Disaster Management as its Vice Chairperson.The Secretariat of ASDMA has become functional since 2009.As per the Disaster Management Act 2005, chapter IV clause 25, every district shall form the District Disaster Management Authority (DDMA) under the Chairmanship of the Deputy Commissioner and the Addl. Deputy Commissioner (Revenue and Disaster Management) as the Chief Executive Officer of DDMA. The Assam State Disaster Management Authority (ASDMA) has placed District Project Officers at every District HQs to carry out the activities of DDMA and ASDMA. The DDMA Golaghat is operational since 2011

The District Disaster Management Authority (DDMA), Golaghat has been notified with the Deputy Commissioner as the Chairperson and the following members as stated below :-

1.    The Chairperson of Zila Parishad as the Co-Chairperson
2.    The Addl. Deputy Commissioner (Disaster Management) as the C.E.O
3.    The Superintendant of Police as member
4.    The Joint Director of Health Services as member
5.    The A.E.E P.W.D,   as member
6.    The A.E.E, Water Resources, as member

Special Invitee to the meetings of DDMA: Heads of all departments concerned with the management of disaster in the district .